For a lot of people, a tattoo is akin to a rite of passage. A lot of people get them to celebrate certain events in their lives or to commemorate something significant they’ve experienced. Tattoos are so common these days that almost everyone has one or wants one — even minors.
That can pose a big problem if you happen to be a tattoo artist.
When can a minor receive a tattoo in Florida?
In general, you cannot tattoo anyone under 16 years of age, for any reason. If the minor in question is between 16 and 18 years of age, you can give them a tattoo if:
- You are a licensed tattooist (or licensed to practice medicine or dentistry).
- The minor is accompanied by their parent or legal guardian at the time.
- You have proof of that person’s identity.
- They have proof that they are the minor’s parent or legal guardian.
Even then, you need to remember that other laws may still come into play. You must, for example, be careful about where you place any kind of tattoo on a minor. In Florida, you can be charged with fondling, which is a form of
What can you do if a minor fools you?
Most tattoo shops work hard to keep minors out, but mistakes happen. You may have been fooled by someone’s demeanor, looks and a fake ID. If that happens, don’t make the mistake of trying to talk your way out of the situation. The only person you should talk to is an experienced criminal defense attorney who has your best interests in mind.