If you are charged with shoplifting, it can be a stressful situation. It’s only made worse during the holidays when everyone is gearing up for family time and fun.
In Florida, shoplifting is taken seriously, and if convicted, you can face significant fines and even jail time.
To better understand your situation and potential defenses, you need to know more about shoplifting charges in Florida.
Degrees of shoplifting charges
You can be charged with petit theft or grand theft when shoplifting. The value of the stolen merchandise determines your charges. As the value of the merchandise increases, the penalties do, too.
It is important to note that if you are charged and convicted of the least serious shoplifting charge in Florida, the fines are up to $500, and 60 days in jail. This increases as the value of the stolen goods go up. Additionally, the fines you face are usually significantly more than the value of the merchandise you are accused of stealing.
Protecting your rights when charged with shoplifting
If you are arrested and charged with shoplifting in Florida, you should remember that you have a host of rights at your disposal. One right that you may want to consider is your right to remain silent. The police may ask you questions and try to get you to talk about what happened, which can then be used to secure a conviction. You have legal rights and knowing what they are will help you achieve the best possible outcome for your situation.