ESCOBAR AND ASSOCIATES ANNOUCEMENT REGARDING COVID-19

Escobar and Associates Attorneys at Law remains open during the COVID-19 Coronavirus pandemic. Legal services are defined as “essential” within the Stay at Home Order executed by Florida Governor, Ron DeSantis. We remain committed to providing uninterrupted legal services to all clients. We also remain dedicated to the health and safety of our clients and staff. Within the office, our firm has already implemented protocols to keep clients and staff safe during this crisis. We understand as criminal defense attorneys how crucial it is for our attorneys and staff to remain available 24 hours a day, seven days a week to provide legal services for clients in need.

Your pursuit of justice starts here!

Speak to an attorney 24 hours a day free consultations

Email Us & Get Help
Today

Can you refuse a field sobriety test?

| Mar 24, 2015 | drunk driving

In a recent post, we explained the truth about field sobriety tests. If a police officer suspects that you have been drinking and driving, the officer may ask you to complete a field sobriety test to evaluate whether you are intoxicated. What happens if you refuse?

Under Florida law, there are no penalties if you refuse to do a field sobriety test. However, saying no to the test does not mean that you are off the hook. 

An officer may still have probable cause to arrest you for a DUI. Probable cause means that the officer has enough evidence to believe that you were committing a crime. For example, if the officer sees empty beer bottles in your backseat, the officer could arrest you based on probable cause that you were driving under the influence.

When you have been arrested on suspicion of a DUI, Florida law requires that you take one of three kinds of chemical tests: breath, blood, or urine. These tests determine your blood alcohol content. Under Florida’s implied consent law, when you apply for a driver’s license, you consent to taking a chemical test if you are lawfully arrested by an officer who has probable cause to believe you were driving under the influence. If you refuse, you face certain penalties.

The first time you refuse to take a chemical test, your license will be suspended for one year. For a second refusal or any other refusal afterwards, your license will be suspended for 18 months. In addition, you will be committing a misdemeanor, so you could face additional consequences, including time in jail. Further, your refusal to submit to the test could be used against you in court.

Have you been charged with a DUI or lost your driver’s license because you refused to take a chemical test? Talking to an experienced DUI attorney can help you understand your rights. 

  • Martindale-Hubbell | Top rated lawyer in Tampa | Richard Escobar | For Ethical Standards and Legal Ability | Martindale-Hubbell Top rated lawyer
  • Top Lawyers 2016 | Richard Escobar
  • Top Lawyers 2016 | Dino Michaels
  • Highest Possible Rating in Both Legal Ability & Ethical Standards | AV |AV Preeminent | Richard Escobar | 2016
  • Judicial Education | AV | AV Preeminent | Richard Escobar | 2016
  • CLIENT | DISTINCTION AWARD | Dino mike Michaels, Esq. | Recognized for Excellence | Quality of Service | Overall Value | Responsiveness | Communication Ability
  • 15 | YEAR | Anniversary | Proudly Serving | the Community | Since 2001 | Dino Mike Michaels
  • 10 Best 2018 | Richard Escobar | Client Satisfaction | American Institute Of Criminal Law Attorneys

Archives

Email Us & Get Help
Today

FindLaw Network