Being pulled over for drunk driving can be one of the most frightening experiences you can have. This is especially true if you have been pulled over for DUI a second time in the state of Florida. Being convicted of driving under the influence can damage your life long term in several ways, which is why aggressively defending yourself against this type of criminal offense is worthwhile.
If you are convicted of driving under the influence, you may be sentenced to time behind bars. Jail time imposed for a first conviction is no more than six months, and the amount of time is nine months if a minor was in the vehicle at the time of the DUI arrest. However, the time period jumps to nine months and one year, respectively, for someone facing a second conviction. If you are convicted for a third time within a decade, you will automatically be required to go to jail for a minimum of 30 days, with the maximum length of jail time being a year. Finally, if you are convicted four or more times, you will be sentenced to no more than five years in jail.
In addition to resulting in jail time, a conviction for driving under the influence will cause your driving privileges to be curtailed. For instance, your driver’s license will be revoked for between 180 days and one year for your first conviction. The revocation time jumps to at least five years and 10 years for your second and third convictions, respectively. If you are convicted four or more times, your license will be revoked permanently.
DUI convictions can also lead to hefty fines in the state of Florida. Fines are usually from $500 to $1,000 for a first conviction; $1,000 to $2,000 for a second conviction; $2,000 to $5,000 for a third conviction; and, at the minimum, $2,000 for a fourth or higher conviction.
A knowledgeable attorney can help you fight for your best interests following an arrest for driving under the influence and will also ensure that your rights are protected during all stages of the criminal proceedings.