The internet has brought new ways for people to communicate and interact with one another, and it has also given rise to new ways for people to hurt one another. Lawmakers have had to create entirely new regulations and terminology to govern the way that people behave while on the internet.
Florida lags behind some other states when it comes to specific legal protections online, but it does have some laws that aim to curtail the worst digital behaviors. Those who have access to racy, nude or otherwise intimate videos or photos could find themselves facing allegations of sexual cyberharassment if they do certain things with those images.
What are the penalties for sexual cyberharassment?
Since 2015, Florida has prohibited people from sharing intimate images or videos of others without their knowledge and consent. What state lawmakers call sexual cyberharassment is more commonly called revenge porn. Those who intentionally share images while identifying the person in the image and with the intention of causing distress can face criminal charges under the sexual cyberharassment law.
A first offense of this kind is a first-degree misdemeanor, which could mean up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. A second offense will likely be a third-degree felony that could result in up to five years in prison and $5,000 in fines.
How can you defend against such allegations?
Anyone accused of sexual cyberharassment could have several options for defending themselves. Proving that your circumstances only meet some of the criteria of the law but not all of them could be one approach.
Looking at the exact allegations and evidence against you can help you better determine how to defend yourself from allegations of sexual cyberharassment. An experienced attorney can help.